Enno Tardini Stadium: The century-long home for the Parma soccer team
For almost one century, it has been the home for the soccer team of Parma. It was strongly pushed for by Enno Tardini, for whom it was named. Unfortunately, he could not enjoy the inauguration (on September 16, 1924) because of his premature death the year before.
The philanthropic Parmesan lawyer, a partner of the Parma Football Club (founded on December 16, 1913) and its president from 1921 to 1923, worked to achieve many other useful deeds in the city, and was person of simplicity and of style, and little used to the spotlight.
Tardini did not even participate in the brick-laying ceremony of the stadium he bestowed to the Parmesans, which occurred after a derby on December 26, 1922 with the Reggiana victorious 2-0 at the old field (The Stradone), that they might have an upgraded structure to practice many different sports disciplines.
The stadium was originally built with a bike track, and a gym for gymnastics and exercises. The purpose of the stadium was not only soccer, but other activities as well like cycling, rugby, and athletics. It is no coincidence that the original title bore the name “Multisport”.
For four decades it was used mainly for soccer, but on any occasion, it was ready for other sporting events.
This happened so often that over time, the configuration of the stadium underwent a specific transformation. The track was eliminated and grandstands were built on the western and eastern sides of the stadium, and bleachers built on the north and south sides.
Built from communal property, run in agreement with Parma Calcio 1913, the Tardini, which boasts a capacity of 22,352 seats, is today one of the oldest and most fascinating stadiums in Italy.
Two things make the Tardini stand out among other stadiums. One is the famous monumental entrance. But above all, the close proximity of the stadium to the city center and the ease of reaching the field.
The centrality in the urban fabric of Parma is considered a significant advantage for the habits and customs of the fans.
The Sporting Center of Collecchio: The “Village of the Crossing”
It consists of five regulation grass fields, one with synthetic grass, and one covered artificial turf field, with reduced dimensions.
One of the five fields has a capacity of 1200 seats. There are rooms for the first team and the youth teams. In addition to the dressing rooms, there are two gyms, two rooms equipped for physiotherapy, rooms for medical studies, and a pool.
Flanked by sportive plant designs is the Directional Center which houses different offices, meeting rooms, the media room, a restaurant, ten double bedrooms and two suites.
Parma Calcio 1913, believing in the importance of this complex for the development of technical and human assets and for advancing the sense of belonging to the club, decided to train at this center, which is next to the main complex, all of the youth teams that come from the Juniors.
From this comes the reason for the name “Village of the Crossing”.